Cats and bread dough….

Cats are intended to teach us that not everything in nature has a function

( Unknown )


I really enjoy cats. Cats and art. What an interesting combination. Cats are what got me started in making Christmas Ornaments. I had a tree, and no money, so I wanted to make some ornaments. I thought, I have cats,  I could make an ornament to match each kitty. So, how do I make them? I learned how to make bread dough ornaments. From there I sculpted in bread dough, making several hundred of these ornaments, selling them at craft shows, friends and family. Then I got frustrated. I couldn’t do with the dough what I wanted to do, so I took a pottery class and learned how to work in fired clay, bought a kiln, now 16 years later, here I am still making kitties! This was what one of my kitties looked like many years ago, she has passed on to the rainbow bridge now, I still have her bread dough ornament, I hang it on my tree every year!

No heaven will not ever Heaven be
Unless my cats are there to welcome me.
~Author Unknown

Dough Ornament Recipe

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1-2 cups water
  • 1 cup salt
  • I cup cornstarch
  • Gold or silver wire
  • food coloring
  • Polyurethane varnish
Step 1

Place the flour,cornstarch,and salt in a large mixing bowl and add water and stir until a stiff ball forms

Step 2
Put the dough on a lightly floured surface and knead it several times.
If wanted -Add food coloring to small pieces of dough for colors.Or you can paint them with acrylic paints before varnishing after baking.
Step 3

Separate small pieces of dough and use your fingers to create shapes for your Christmas ornament.Or cut out with cookie cutters.

Step 4

Bend the gold or silver wire into loops and insert them into the ornament for hanging.

Step 5

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees and bake the bread dough ornaments on a baking sheet for 30 minutes. Turn the heat down to 200 and bake the ornaments until they are solid, about 30 more minutes.

Step 6

Remove the bread dough ornaments from the oven and allow them to cool on wire racks.

Step 7

Paint a thin coat of polyurethane varnish on the ornaments with a sponge brush and allow them to dry. Use the acrylic paints to draw small details on the ornaments. Allow the ornaments to dry completely before you hang them on the tree.


Explore posts in the same categories: art, Mixed media tutorials

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Cats and bread dough….”


  1. […] Cats and bread dough…. « Pamela’s ArtCats are intended to teach us that not everything in nature has a function … No heaven will not ever Heaven be; Unless my cats are there to welcome me. ~Author Unknown … Tags: bread dough ornaments, cat, cat ornaments, cats… […]


Leave a Reply

