To be cute or not cute? that is the question

Every artist dips his brush in his own soul, and paints his own nature into his pictures.
Henry Ward Beecher

If this quote is as true a most would believe, than I have a problem. My  true nature rears its ugly head as a cute little puppy. (or a pretty, pink Puff Dragonling)

While I may love to work in realism, spending hours sculpting or painting one particular item, my true gift is creating the whimsical, cute, and just plain adorable. It just comes naturally.I can’t help it. The harder I try to create the amazing likeness of realism, the cuter it gets. Take these two unicorns, one I created over several hours of sculpting, working, studying form , function, how the leg turns, how the muscle would move, the other as a whimsical figurine, in less than a quarter of time the other takes, so what sells? The downright, comical,  “awww, its sooo cute”. The other barely gets a passing glance.

I accept my gifts, as much as I try to rebel sometimes, I want to be a serious artist, but I guess I am a whimsical, fanciful, comical, silly, cute artist. My true nature at work…

Other super Cute art work I found on Etsy

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=15953416

This adorable reindeer is hand dipped in your choice of scented wax and then uniquely posed to make a great decorative air freshener for your home or office.

See Crazy Times Candles at Etsy for more cute items

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=14555939

This is a beautiful 2.5×3.5 inch fine art ACEO print. This is a professional print of my original mixed media painting, printed on premium matte paper so you can see all the beautiful details without glare. The print is rated to last at the very least for 100 years under glass, so you don’t have to worry about it fading!

See more at Little Sapphire’s Shop on Etsy

Explore posts in the same categories: art

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “To be cute or not cute? that is the question”

  1. Techitoes Says:

    OMG my new favorite quote: “My true nature rears its ugly head as a cute little puppy.” I’m so glad I found this blog!


Leave a Reply

